Advertisement

Saffron For Kids: What The Clinical Research Actually Found — And Why Most Bottles Never Get Close To It

A 2019 pediatric trial put a saffron extract head to head with the standard prescription. Then the supplement aisle got hold of the ingredient. Here's the gap between the two — and what to check on a label before you buy.

Dr. Leah Mendoza
By Dr. Leah Mendoza, Integrative Pediatric Nutritionist · Reviewed by Dr. Amanda Reyes, Pediatrician
Updated June 2026
Saffron threads beside a printed journal page

The spice, the study, and the distance between them.

It usually starts around 3:30.

He walks in the door and he's done. Not tired — done. The backpack hits the floor. You ask about his day and something small goes wrong, and then something small goes very wrong.

By dinner the whole house is careful. Everyone's picking their words. One mom described it as walking on eggshells and that's the phrase that keeps coming up, over and over, in the parenting forums where this gets talked about honestly.

So you started looking. And somewhere around 11pm, in a tab you opened after everyone went to bed, you found saffron.

Here's where most parents stop.

"I tried saffron. Three weeks. No difference."

That's a real review, and it's a common one. And it leads almost everyone to the same conclusion: natural isn't strong enough.

That the gentle stuff is fine for a cold, but this — the focus, the big emotions, the 3:30 collapse — this needs something serious. Something you need a prescription for.

It's a reasonable thing to believe. It's also the thing the research contradicts most directly.

In 2019, researchers in Tehran ran a randomized, double-blind trial on 54 children with attention and hyperactivity difficulties, ages 6 to 17.

Half received a saffron extract. Half received methylphenidate — the standard prescription stimulant.

Six weeks later, they scored every child on the Teacher and Parent ADHD Rating Scales.

The researchers found no significant difference between the two groups.

That is a small pilot study, and the authors say so themselves. It is not a reason to change anything about your child's medical care, and it doesn't make a supplement a medicine. But it is a published, peer-reviewed, double-blind result — and it is very hard to square with "natural isn't strong enough."

A separate double-blind trial in youth aged 12 to 16 found saffron was well tolerated, with no adverse effects reported.

Source Baziar S, et al. Crocus sativus L. Versus Methylphenidate in Treatment of Children with ADHD: A Randomized, Double-Blind Pilot Study. Journal of Child and Adolescent Psychopharmacology, 2019; 29(3):205–212. DOI: 10.1089/cap.2018.0146 · PMID: 30741032 Read the study →

So why did yours do nothing?

Two reasons. Neither one is saffron.

The first is the dose.

The trials that produced these results used a specific, measured amount of saffron extract every day: 20–30 mg, adjusted for the child's weight — 20 mg a day under 30 kg, 30 mg a day above it.

Now go look at the bottle in your cabinet.

Bloomwise Supplement Facts — Saffron Extract, standardized to 2% safranal, 15 mg per serving
Here's ours: printed on the panel, next to every other number.
Milligrams of saffron extract, daily
Most kids' labels — not disclosed
20–30 mg — trial range
Bloomwise — 15 mg/meltable · 30 mg/day
0 mgClinical window40 mg
Trial range per Baziar et al., 2019 (20–30 mg/day, weight-adjusted). Bloomwise: 15 mg per meltable, standardized to 2% safranal — 30 mg across a two-meltable day.

Most kids' saffron doesn't print the number. It's buried inside a "proprietary blend," which is a legal way of telling you the total weight of eight ingredients without telling you how much of any one of them you're getting.

When the number is printed, it's often a fraction of what the studies used.

One parent, in a comment thread under a saffron product, put it plainly: "that doesn't seem like a significant amount of saffron."

She was right. And that's the whole experiment, ruined before it started.

You didn't test saffron. You tested a rumor of saffron.

In the clinical trial
On most kids' labels
A stated daily amount
"Proprietary blend"
Same dose, every day, 6 weeks
Amount not disclosed
Standardized extract
Extract type not stated

The second reason is the form it came in.

Most saffron made for kids is a gummy. And a gummy has three problems that have nothing to do with the ingredient.

It has to taste like candy. Which means sugar — often 2 to 8 grams a serving. You're giving it to a child whose focus and mood you're trying to steady, wrapped in the one thing pediatric dentists warn about and most parents are already trying to cut.

The chewy base takes up room. There's only so much space in a gummy, and a lot of it is holding the gummy together. Real nutrient amounts get squeezed out to make room for the sugar and the gelatin.

And it has to survive the trip. Anything swallowed goes through the stomach first. A meaningful share of what you paid for doesn't make it through.

Then there's the version of this problem that ends the whole thing: he won't take it.

"Pills they can't swallow. Powders they refuse." Capsules get spat out. Gummies get boring by week two. And a supplement that sits in the cupboard is a supplement that scored zero — no matter what the label promised.

One mom summed up every failed bottle in one sentence: "The problem was never the ingredients. It was that my kid wouldn't take them long enough for them to actually work."

What to look for on the label

If you're going to give saffron a fair test — an actual one this time — here's what has to be true.

  1. The saffron amount is printed on the panel.Not a blend. A number, in milligrams, that you can compare to the studies yourself.
  2. It's not the only thing in there.A struggling brain doesn't usually run short on one nutrient. Magnesium, zinc, iron, vitamin D, B12 and L-theanine all show up in the research on focus and mood in kids. One nutrient working alone is one instrument trying to play a symphony.
  3. There's no sugar riding along.Zero grams. Not "reduced." Zero.
  4. Your child will take it every single day for thirty days without a fight.This is the one everybody skips, and it's the one that decides the outcome. The best formula on earth scores zero from inside a cupboard.

Four boxes. Go check the bottle you already own.

What parents tend to notice, and when

  1. Days 1–7 — Probably nothing.

    This is normal, and it's the point where most bottles get abandoned. Nutrients build up. Give it the full run.

  2. Days 7–14 — The first small thing.

    It's rarely dramatic. It's usually that the 3:30 collapse is shorter. Ten minutes instead of forty. You won't be sure it's the supplement. You'll wonder if it was just a good week.

  3. Days 14–21 — You stop bracing.

    You ask him to switch off the tablet and he does it, and you notice afterward that you'd already tensed up for the argument that didn't come. That's the one parents mention most.

  4. Days 21–30 — Ordinary.

    Not a different child. The same child, with a bit more room to be himself. Homework starts closer to when you asked. Dinner is just dinner.

Consistency is the whole thing. Miss days and the test doesn't count — which, if you've read this far, you already know.

★★★★★
4.9/5 on Trustpilot from 6,900+ parents
★★★★★"I was the biggest skeptic. We've spent hundreds on supplements that collected dust. My son took the meltable day one without a single complaint. We're on month 3 and I just ordered our second round."Megan T. · Verified buyer
★★★★★"I'm a pediatric OT. I recommend BloomWise to families in my practice because the formulation actually makes sense — it addresses the nutritional gaps I see in almost every kid on my caseload with focus and regulation challenges."Rachel B. · Verified buyer
★★★★★"We pulled our daughter off Guanfacine after 4 months because it was making everything worse — rage, weight gain, she wasn't herself anymore. I was terrified to try anything else. BloomWise felt safe because it's nutrition, not another drug."Tanya L. · Verified buyer
★★★★★"A month into BloomWise, the after-school explosions have gone from every single day to maybe twice a week. He's not a different kid — he's just more… himself. Calmer. Less frustrated. His little sister isn't scared of him anymore."Katie W. · Verified buyer
★★★★★"Her therapist called it 'restraint collapse.' She was using every ounce of energy masking all day and had nothing left for home. Within 3 weeks on BloomWise, the crash softened. She still has hard moments but the recovery is so much faster — and bedtime went from a 90-minute battle to maybe 15 minutes."Brianna C. · Verified buyer
★★★★★"BloomWise was the first thing we both said yes to. It's nutrition — not a drug. That mattered to him. Three months in, my husband is the one who reminds our son to take it every morning. He actually said 'I think this is helping' last week. That sentence meant more to me than any test result."Lauren D. · Verified buyer
Third-party testedNon-GMOVegan0g sugarMade in the USA verify

Sixty days. Then decide.

Take it daily for a month. If nothing changes — if the afternoons are the same, if he won't take it, if you just don't see it — email us and we'll refund you. You don't need to send the jar back and you don't need to explain.

Sixty days is longer than you need. That's deliberate. We'd rather you have room to be unconvinced than feel rushed into being sure.

Questions parents ask

How much saffron is actually in it?

15 mg per meltable — 30 mg across the two-meltable day — printed on the Supplement Facts panel, not hidden in a blend. You can compare it against the trial linked above.

Can he take this with his ADHD medication?

This is a question for his pediatrician, and we'd rather you ask them than take our word for it. Bring the ingredient panel to the appointment — it's on the product page and it's complete.

Will it make him drowsy or flat?

It isn't a sedative and it isn't a stimulant. L-theanine and magnesium are included specifically because they're associated with calm that doesn't come with drowsiness. If anything seems off, stop and call your pediatrician.

My kid refuses everything. Honestly.

Fair. That's why it's a meltable rather than a gummy or a capsule — nothing to chew, nothing to swallow, no water. It's berry flavoured and sugar-free, and most kids treat it as a treat. If yours doesn't, that's what the 60 days is for.

What age is this for?

Ages 4 to 12. For a 4 or 5 year old, most parents start with one meltable and work up to two.

How long before we know?

Give it the full thirty days. Most parents describe the first small change somewhere in the second week, and it's usually subtle.

Is it third-party tested? Where's it made?

Yes, third-party tested for purity and potency. Non-GMO, vegan, zero sugar.

Does it replace his multivitamin?

It's built as an all-in-one, so many families use it in place of a separate multivitamin. Check the panel against what he's currently taking.

Can I cancel?

Yes, anytime, from your account. No phone call, no retention script.

Bloomwise Kids Meltable jar

You were never wrong about saffron

You were sold a version of it that couldn't have worked. Wrong amount, wrong form, and a taste your kid quit on by day nine.

This is the other version. Printed dose. Thirteen nutrients alongside it. Zero sugar. And it melts, so it actually gets taken.

Thirty days is all it takes to know.

Start the 30 days →

Cancel anytime · 60-Day Money-Back Guarantee · Free shipping

Bloomwise Daily MeltableFrom less than $1/day · 60-day guarantee
Get Bloomwise →